I’ll be Live at the Scottish Press Club! The Griffin in Glasgow – 7.30pm – 3rd May

I hope readers won’t mind me indulging in some shameless self-promotion.

I am chuffed to have been asked along to speak at the next meeting of the Scottish Press Club, which takes place tomorrow (Thursday 3rd May) at 7.30 pm in the Griffin in Bath Street, Glasgow. (Across the road from the King’s Theatre). Full details are here.

It is not just for journalists and PR people – anyone is welcome to attend. After all, they let me in!

Admission is also free, but it keeps the owner of the Griffin happy if you buy a drink or two.

I will be speaking about blogging, citizen journalism, the decline and fall of Western Civilisation, and possibly Rangers Football Club PLC (in administration). However I don’t guarantee to cover all of those topics in my allotted time slot!

It’s my job to lead off, so don’t be late. (That is an admonition to myself, rather than to any readers!)

Dr Carol Craig, of the Centre for Confidence and Wellbeing http://www.centreforconfidence.co.uk/ is the main speaker.

She is the Centre’s Chief Executive. She is author of The Scots’ Crisis of Confidence, Creating Confidence: A Handbook for Professionals Working with Young People and The Tears that Made the Clyde: Well-being in Glasgow. She blogs on confidence, well-being, inequality, every day life and some of the great challenges of our time.

I am very much looking forward to hearing Dr Craig speak.

For more information on the Scottish Press Club, it can be found on Twitter http://twitter.com/#!/ScotsPressClub and on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/3pn9uln.

 It should be a good evening, as I am sure that at least Dr Craig will be entertaining and enlightening (unlike the other speaker.)

 

Posted by Paul McConville

11 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Press

11 responses to “I’ll be Live at the Scottish Press Club! The Griffin in Glasgow – 7.30pm – 3rd May

  1. Carntyne

    You picked the right night.
    Celtic play St. Johnstone at Parkhead with the Thai Tims making an appearance.

    Good luck with your speech.

    • Paul you deserve some credit and recognition for keeping the general public updated with your thoughts on recent activities – especially with regards Rangers. I used to frequent the Griffin when I stayed in Glasgow and was also a visitor to the old press club when it had its own premises, so I do hope that you have a good night and do not get too much flak from the journalists who have been so scarce with the truth in their rags. As Carntyne stated pity is conflicts with Thai Tims and St Johnstone match, but best of luck anyway.
      Keep us updated with how it goes, if I was in Scotland I would like to have attended.

    • Thanks for the good wishes! Till you mentioned it, I didn’t realise there was a game on!

  2. Bhoywonder

    Paul, I would honestly have come but I live in Newcastle upon Tyne and have my kids on a Thursday….pity. I hope others on here with an inquisitive mind can make their appearance….you deserve it. I would also have loved to have sat in with the good Dr. I’m sure it will be educational and somewhat humerous….have a great night and indulge yourself.

  3. StevieBC

    Is this Scottish Press Club associated with The Scottish Press Awards ?
    [Re: Sports News Writer of the Year – Keith Jackson.]

    If so, please convey our/RTC bloggers ‘thoughts’ on his achievement !

    Break a leg…

  4. What are you going to speak about, Paul?

  5. That was a very enjoyable meeting and I’m glad I went along.
    Good discussions and good speakers.
    It was a real pleasure to meet you, Paul.

Leave a Reply

