Alex Salmond – Why Rangers Football Club PLC (in administration) Must Be Saved

 

Mr Salmond was briefly interviewed on the BBC yesterday regarding the position of Rangers.

Below is a transcript of what he had to say.

 

“My appeal to Rangers and to HMRC is – can’t we agree on a sum that’s due and a means of paying it that allows Rangers to continue as an effective functioning football club in Scotland because Scottish football, even Celtic, needs Rangers. Scottish football needs Rangers.

“We want Rangers to survive and that should be a key goal and requirement prevailing on nut just Rangers, not just Craig Whyte, but HMRC as well.”

When asked about the need for regulation in football, he replied, “There are processes going on at the present moment. 

“In the last few weeks I contacted both Rangers and HMRC, whose record in court is not particularly good at the present moment and I said once this Tribunal which is adjudicating on what genuinely owed – once that Inland Revenue Tribunal sets a sum – can’t that not be agreed as the sum that has to be paid and a time scale agreed to allow the club to pay it without going out of business.

“Now that seems to me an entirely reasonable proposition that would allow the Inland Revenue to get what they are due and allow Rangers to pay their obligations but continue as a vibrant part, not just of Scottish football, but of Scottish culture. I still think that is the best way forward.

“Perhaps people should concentrate on coming to an agreement and moving forward and keeping Scottish football intact with a great future.

“I want to see Rangers continue for the next century and more, contributing to the excitement and fun of Scottish football.”

33 Comments

Filed under Administration, Football, HMRC v Rangers, Politics, Rangers

33 responses to “Alex Salmond – Why Rangers Football Club PLC (in administration) Must Be Saved

  1. steven doyle

    Vote labour

    • easyJambo

      Perhaps for political balance Paul might post former first minister Henry McLeish’s views on the matter, which I think you will find are closely aligned to wee eck.

  2. The Goy Tim

    The above is yet another reason why Salmond is neither fit for office in this or any other country and a glaring example of how opportunist a politician he is. No right minded person would give him their vote!

  3. David Anglenut

    It seems like every time Cameron speaks up for the union he persuades more people to vote for independance. Maybe Samond feels like he has too many votes and is trying to even it out and contribute to the excitement and fun of a national election?

  4. His piles must be killing him, after sitting on the fence so much.

    As can be seen from the output of most politicians, they daren’t risk offending Rangers fans, and their potential votes, not only for national elections, but especially the local authority elections in May. Control of the Glasgow City is on a knife-edge, and no-one dare side with the tax authorities on this subject.

    Evidence of this is most apparent amongst openly Celtic-supporting politicians, straining to show that they side with Rangers, the Scottish media, the SPL and the serial asset stripper, Craig Whyte, in asking Her Majesty’s (The Queen) Revenue and Customs to let this decade of fraud go unpunished.

    It’s an outrage, when you can’t reply on politicians to say what they actually believe.

  5. Establishment is cranking up

    Totally astounding. Must remember that when I’m being asked to vote SNP in the future, ‘No problem Alex, number 1 all the way, sure I won’t have to suffer any consequences for screwing the public purse under a SNP Government’.

  6. Jonbhoy

    Looks like the ‘establishment’ club are starting to get the full backing of the Establishment !
    I remember this being ridiculed on RC phone in and we were told that we were paranoid and that we should move foreward and stop living in the past.
    I’ve already written to Salmond and Margaret Curran and both are of the same opinion…Rangers must be saved so dont waste your vole on Labour either !

    Nothing we can do I suspect except watch and wait !

  7. john Mc

    He should be ashamed of himself… lets hope after todays arse kissing with Cameron he crawls back under the rock

  8. Scott

    What was it the politicians all said when Celtic, Clydebank, Livingston, Airdionians, Gretna and Motherwell almost or actually did go out of business? Oh aye, that’s right, nothing!

  9. What exactly do some people want?

    For ‘open minded’ people there seems to be a distinct lack of realisation as to what the realistic options are.

    A) we want Rangers punished – understandable, so does everyone. But in what way?

    Do you want some form of tax repaid and Rangers to survive?

    Do you want no form of tax to be repaid and Rangers Die – reform – and start again?

    There seems to be no pleasing everyone in this case. Surely the only real punishment available is Rangers to survive and pay back some form of cash in the same way every single other business would do in the same situation?

    Otherwise Rangers fold, start again – even in division 3 and with no real tax paid back?

    I’m becoming a bit delusional with exactly what some people want. They appear happy to moan at any potential outcome without offering a viable solution themselves.

    Now it would appear that every politician is in Rangers favour…..is there no end to this no?

    • Andyfisher1967

      All that I want is transparency; and frankly this whole administration is going to be a sham. RFC has to the reported tune of £75m run up unpaid tax bills and fines (and possibly upward of an additional £10m+ in other debts). Any other business would have been asset stripped and the HMRC would have ensured the public purse (that we are constantly being told is being squeezed) would have been a great deal better off to fund public services.

      If RFC are simply allowed to continue with a 10 point slap on the wrist and “get away” with setting up a CVA that settles, at say, 10p in the £1 (therefore maybe £4 or £5 million, based on the crystallised debt, to be paid to creditors – where Whyte is the preferred Creditor) and can continue business as usual where does that leave Scottish football? What credibility remains? Simply sends messages that you can run your club anyway you want, not pay your taxes and suppliers and walk away scot free…

      That is what I could not stomach and like a lot of CFC season ticket holders would find extremely unpalatable. Remember this is the same lot that woudl have let us dfold before McCann…

      • Right first of all im not defending anything here, however – that is the beauty/ugly side of limited business.

        That is how it works. That is how every single business up and down the land that have been in a similar situation – for smaller amount of money have operated.

        Yes, Ranges could have their assets sold off but their assets are virtually useless out with football. Players could go – that is granted but the stadium? Useless to anyone out with football.

        Transparency would be nice, but HMRC cannot do anything until after a FTT announced it’s findings. I am not meaning you in particular mate with this next point, far from – but some people need to get off their high horse, sit back and let time and situations develop before having a cardiac over things that have not yet happened and situations that have not yet arisen.

        Call it a sham, call it unfair call it whatever people want to – the simple reality is that not everyone is going to get what they want out of this. Anyway, Scottish Footballs ‘integrity’ managed to survive two league re-constructions to save MFC from relegation. I remember it well, and was thankful for it – because my employment depended on it.

    • Garry, I’ve read all five of your posts on this page but I’ll use this reply box to address your arguments.

      (Q1) “What exactly do some people want?”
      (A) Justice. That the guilty parties receive the full measure of punishment for the gigantic criminality which has been their hallmark. Those guilty parties include not only Craig Whyte but Rangers FC itself and all of the people who have been responsible for running it.

      (Q2) “But in what way?”
      (A) In the case of Rangers, liquidation. In the case of its directors, criminal investigation and, if there is a case to answer, prosecution.

      (Q3) “Do you want some form of tax repaid and Rangers to survive?”
      (A) It would have been nice if Rangers had paid taxes but it’s too late now. The money which they owe has already been spent on buying titles, cups, Champions League booty, succulent lamb and opportunities to lord it over the rest of us. An example has to be made of them.

      (Q4) “Do you want no form of tax to be repaid and Rangers die – reform – and start again?”
      (A) I want them to be liquidated forever as a warning to other businesses which think that they are too big and important to obey the laws which apply to the rest of us.

      (Q5) “There seems to be no pleasing everyone in this case. Surely the only real punishment available is [for] Rangers to survive and pay back some form of cash in the same way every single other business would do in the same situation?”
      (A) I’m not interested in pleasing everybody. The guilty are not pleased when they are caught and punished. The only real punishment is for Rangers not to survive. Every single other business is not in the same situation. For one thing, comparatively few businesses rip off ten million pounds per year in unpaid taxes and gloat about spending ten pounds for every fiver which their honest rivals can spend.

      (Q6) “Otherwise Rangers fold, start again – even in division 3 and with no real tax paid back?”
      (A) I was with you there for the first three words. But I see no moral reason why New Rangers should be allowed to jump ahead of honest clubs which have lived within their means for years in the hope of one day being able to join the senior league set-up in the third division. As for the danger of “no real tax paid back”, again I see no reason why the clubs from the South of Scotland League or the Highland League which have habitually paid their taxes and NI contributions every year should be passed over so that senior football can continue at Ibrox.

      You conclude with, “I’m becoming a bit delusional with exactly what some people want. They appear happy to moan at any potential outcome without offering a viable solution themselves.
      Now it would appear that every politician is in Rangers favour…..is there no end to this no?”

      Here is exactly what I want.
      The viable solution is that the club which has brought this scandal upon itself is hammered into the ground. That is the potential outcome which I will not moan at. It is exactly what the club deserves and therefore it is exactly what ought to happen. That is called justice.
      I cannot figure out the point you are trying to make about politicians so I will merely observe that politicians are not generally very high on my list of people whose integrity and principles I admire. If Salmond or Curran or any of the others calculate that they can gain political advantage by lying through their teeth about any issue under the sun, then that is exactly what they will do.

      • Finally the most honest and truthful answer that anyone has ever given me to that questions that i have asked.

        The point I was making is that, until your kind self, no one else has given such a direct answer.

        I have heard plenty of people moan at potential outcomes without anyone ever finally nailing their colours to the mast on the subject.

        To be honest, you make some very good moral points. My only argument back to them, is not in disagreement, but that your wishes will never be granted. I think that you know that as much as I do.

        You are perfectly entitled to the opinion that you have regarding those running Rangers over the years( indeed it would be insane to argue). You are also entitled to your opinion on the way Rangers Football Club should be dealt with.

        It may not be the way that I would personally deal with the situation, but as I have ‘blue tinted glasses’ there would always be little chance of that. It does not remove the embarrassment I have over the dealings done in my clubs name. I am sure you appreciate that also.

        Thank you for being brutally honest. If only more people would have the ‘balls’ to nail their colours to the mast and say what they really mean as I have a feeling right now that too many people are too fearful of coming out with the term, ‘ no more Rangers’.

        Unfortunately for you, and others that share a similar view – i doubt you will get what you want, and that is really all that i have been trying to say along the way here.

        ( ps: the point regarding politicians was irrelevant anyway)

      • Do you mind if I post this opinion on my own page for others to comment upon?

        It is particularly well written, clear and concise enough to give a broad overview of what one individual (that obviously feels very strongly) has. It also doesn’t toe the now apparent party line that Rangers should be allowed to strike some form of deal.

        If not then it is fine, not going to misrepresent you in any way.

        Cheers again.

      • Garry, you are indeed welcome to use my post on your own page and I appreciate you having the courtesy to ask me. I am sure that you will likewise do Paul the courtesy of linking the post to its original context on his blog.

        I will add a couple of further thoughts which you are free to include or not, as you choose. Firstly you yourself are an example of a rare specimen – a Rangers supporter with whom it is actually possible to engage in reasonable discussion. I have generally found that the normal [sic] Rangers supporter is impossible to reason with and is all but incapable of conceding any point. Whether or not you ultimately agree with my point of view I recognise that you are the type of person who will sincerely consider it and that is all I ever hope for in an exchange of views.

        Regarding your doubts that I will get what I want, that is neither here nor there in my world. Few of us get what we want but most of us would like to see the best possible correlation between our ideals and what is practically attainable. I certainly hold to an ideal that sits at the opposite pole from the suggestion that there should be anything other than the heaviest possible punishment for a club which has been cheating for decades. We can safely use the word cheating for the practice of gaining an advantage by spending tens of millions of pounds which rightly belongs to other parties.

        And therein lies the fundamental principle.

        Forget football; forget Rangers; forget the so-called Old Firm.
        What we have here is a corporate scandal of appalling proportions.
        I defy anyone reading this blog to write the following letter to HMRC ;

        Dear Hector,

        How are you? I am fine.

        Oh, by the way, I’m not going to bother paying my taxes any more.
        You can get enough money from everyone else. Just charge them all a wee bit extra.
        Me, I’d rather spend the money on myself.
        So that’s what I’ll do.
        If you want to make something of it, get back to me in 2023 and we’ll see if we can strike a deal.
        But forget about expecting me to pay the full whack of what I owe.
        In fact, you’ll be lucky if you collect anything at all.
        Hey, if it makes you feel better, I could lower my profile a bit for a short while.
        Yeah, and I don’t mind changing my name a wee bit so long as everybody still knows who I am

        How do you like them apples?

        Regards to Mrs. Hector.
        (signed)
        A. Tax-Dodger (Mr.)

        P.S. Don’t waste your time trying to repossess my house or looking for my savings. I’ve put them all out of your reach. Suck it up, loser.

        That is what we are dealing with here on a huge scale. Shameless, remorseless, brazen corporate villainy. If they get away with it, that simply means that there not enough decent people in this society who are prepared to kick up the sort of stink that makes prevents corruption. I hold out the hope that there are plenty of decent people, including yourself, who will only tolerate so much before they say, “Enough!”

        The price to pay is simply that a mediocre football league will finally accept its level instead of deluding itself that it has a right to be a world power because one of its clubs clung desperately to the chimera of buying a place amongst the elite with tax-payers’ money. It’s really not a lot to ask for, is it?

        The problem here is not how to spare Strong Rangers the disgrace which they fully deserve. Nor should we attempt to meet the challenge of how best to let Strong Rangers regain its birthright as the self-styled most successful club in the world. There is no sustainable argument that Scottish football needs Strong Rangers any more than there is a case to be made that the BMA needed Harold Shipman or that the NHS had a duty to find a way to get him back into a practice as a junior doctor.

        It is not enough to sweep this sordid current state of affairs under the carpet and carry on, after a brief hiccup, as if nothing had happened. There really ought to be a serious period of sincere soul-searching, akin to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission that heralded the birth of the post-apartheid South African state, in order to learn lessons and move on to a better future.
        Correct, I’m not holding my breath. But I’m not setting my sights any lower either.

        For the record, I could accept a brand new football club playing at Ibrox Stadium if:
        – it didn’t try to lay claim to the lineage of Strong Rangers (1873-2012)
        – it actively discouraged any association with the “traditions and culture” of Strong Rangers (d. 2012)
        – it unequivocally rejected any suggestion that it embodied anew the spirit and ethos of Strong Rangers.(R.I.P.)
        – it made the significant, symbolic gesture of sporting a green strip to emphasise its rejection of the old Strong Rangers identity.

        But anything which suggests that the path has been cleared to allow Strong Rangers to be reincarnated is unacceptable to me.

      • Grr. Proof-reading fail in my post above. The garbled sentence in the paragraph after the letter to Hector should read:

        “If they get away with it, that simply means that there are not enough decent people in this society who are prepared to kick up the sort of stink that makes corruption preventable.”

      • I know you didn’t mean it to- but your anology of the letter to HMRC made me laugh because it’s so very true.

        As I’ve said elsewhere I think at some point people have misunderstood my points on Rangers as me defending them in some way- when I don’t. My club or not I don’t defend their actions any more than I would defend anyone for committing a crime- and it is safe to say that for the general public, a ‘crime’ is what has been committed. ( forget legal interp)

        Without going through your points part by part at the moment I will put something together very soon using them and give you first dibs on anything if you feel I am twisting your words in any way. I will be quoting directly mind you so I doubt thy it will happen.

        Cheers again

  10. Paul Black

    One of the issues at stake here is the integrity of Scottish football.
    If the rules of the game are changed/ignored to accommodate one cheating club then why should all the other clubs even bother to follow those rules?

  11. Exile

    Paul, change of point, if I may? The administrator today at Rangers’ press conference said there was no record of the Ticketus money on the club’s books. Fair enough – if it’s not there, he can’t see it. Then he was asked how much the cash from Ticketus was and stated it was £24m. If it’s not on the books, how could he know?

    • I thought about this too.

      It appears that the ticketus money went through the holding company, as you have aluded to.

      Of course, as you have said, the admin cannot see such figures.

      From that- I am willing to allude that the figures have either been taken from Craig whytes own words in the press- but more likely, from ticketus.

      I could be wrong. If they have put together a CVA then surely some form of exchange has happened between the admin and the company.

      • Michael

        but if the Ticketus money is with Group then the administrators would not need to talk to Ticketus and they would not be party to any CVA. In addition without Ticketus HMRCs current debt assumes a much higher percentage. Maybe not 25% but high enough that they could gang up with others to oppose.

  12. Exile

    Yes, Garry, possibly. But could they have pulled a CVA together so quickly? Or perhaps it just revealed there is a far too cosy relationship between Whyte and his appointed administrators…

    On the wider issue, it’s becoming clear there is a powerful political push to save Rangers from liquidation. This would involve Whyte being banished completely and a new owner(s) taking over and coming to an agreement with HMRC to pay a reduced bill over a number of years. Rangers would be seriously weakened but live to fight another day.

    • Regardless of a CVA being in place I am sure some dialogue must have taken place. As I say- I could be very wrong. It’s guesswork.

      Yeah I am getting the impression that the Rangers takeover may be under some form of investigation and that in the end some form of settlement may be arranged between HMRC and Rangers.

      I am sure that this solution will probably rumble more than a few cages – probably even dissapoint a few, or worse.

      If truth be told- it is looking very much like no one in power wants to deal with the idea of no Rangers in this day and age.

      I am sure this will lead to mass debate about a lack of rush to save Celtic circa 1993. Whilst I agree and can see where that argument would be founded I also think that the position of Scottish football has changed so dramatically since those days that the situations are vastly different.

      Different, I hasten to add, due to the work started by ferguson McCann and a now strong and powerful Celtic- without whom, Scottish football would not be what it is today. I do genuinely believe that Rangers and Celtic are the pillars of Scottish football and that without either of those clubs- it would be time to go part- time for the majority of the SPL.

      Of course that is only my opinion

      I am not saying that it is right, I am not saying that it is ideal: but I do feel that it is the best possible solution for all involved- it is probably the only way to maximise the return for HMRC.

  13. Chris

    The Ticketus monies appear to have gone through the Whyte “Group”, and so haven’t shown up on the club’s P&L. Whyte may have used those monies to fund the club in the meantime, but as mentioned elsewhere on this blog, they are excluded from the Whyte “Group” floating charge. What I’m not clear on is whether the season tickets are an “asset” of the club and therefore the legality of the Whyte “Group” using the club’s assets to raise finance for itself. I suppose it would depend on the contractual arrangements for the season tickets which could easily go through a third party provider and have nothing to do with the club.

  14. Fisiani

    The Stages of Grief of Kubler-Ross to any significant loss are well documented.They are Denial, Anger, Bargaining,Depression and Acceptance.
    These stages are not meant to be complete or chronological. The theory also holds that not everyone who experiences a life-threatening or life-altering event feels all five of the responses nor will everyone who does experience them do so in any particular order. The theory is that the reactions to illness, death, and loss are as unique as the person experiencing them. Some people may get stuck in one stage.
    This psychological model is being writ large throughout Scotland. there is still a lot of manure to hit the whirly thing. The grieving will be long and intense.

  15. Ahh a Kubler -Ross remark – I wrote a piece on that myself a few weeks ago.

    Just something of interest for you all:

    Strathclyde Police can confirm that we have been passed information regarding the ongoing situation at Rangers Football Club. This is currently being examined and it would be inappropriate to comment further.

  16. JEP1975

    I’m aghast at the conceptual trap that the politicians, mainstream media, and football authorities have fallen into. Rangers and Celtic are part of Scottish football but they aren’t the whole of Scottish football. There is a reality outside of their twin existence – people still watch football in countries where the money is much less than it is in Scotland and they are probably no less passionate about their team. Finland? Denmark? Switzerland? Latvia? Lithuania? Poland? Serbia? Croatia?

    As I’ve said here and in other forums, the collapse of Rangers offers a real opportunity for the fans, the people for whom Rangers is their faith, their religion, to tithe their income to buy the club off the management who have driven it to this point. £50M, £80M or if the most exaggerated figures £100M is not a lot of money. In the worst case this represents about £400 per person who has Rangers as their “friend” on Facebook, just over a quid a day for your team. Not a lot of hardship. For that they’d have complete control of a business that pulls in £35M a year. Unlike many other companies in this situation they can actually get rid of a large part of their cost base (player’s wages) without affecting their level of sales (football fans don’t often switch allegiance). As long as the fans agreed a 5-year programme of rebuilding from division 3 and the management team delivered that with their own developed players then they would just about have the best comeback story of any football team in the world. If the books were managed properly they could be the St. Pauli of Scottish football – a true community club.

  17. ifa007

    Well done Mr Salmond…no need for any lenghty debate…this is a good enough reason for a cross in the No box…You’ve said David Cameron time and money.

  18. ifa007

    TICKETUS SERVICES 65 LIMITED Dissolved as of 16 Feb 12
    http://www.companiesintheuk.co.uk/ltd/ticketus-services-65

    What can I say!?

  19. ifa007

    Another thought….Someone, somewhere knows where the 18 million originated from to pay off the debt. As part of Anti Money Laundering Regulations, you must be able to demonstrate where funds have come from by providing an audit trail. Even this has to be doe when completing a simple property/mortgage transaction when the deposit has come from the Bank of Mum and Dad.

  20. Bill Kinnear

    What a remarkable, open and frank debate. It’s been a complete pleaseure to read. Almost! One thought aside from the tax case. There are many mentions here and elsewhere about Scottish football needing Celtic and Rangers. If I may be blunt, what utter arrogance.

    Has no-one who supports the so-called Big Two, ever thought that a lot of people stay away from football because the best that can ever happen is to come third in the EssPeeEll, and that the TV and sponsorship deals are weighted on that basis. The more successful you are the more you get paid. Nothing wrong with that except the dice are loaded before kick-off.

    It may take a few years, but it is my belief that a more competitive league is possible without Rangers and Celtic.

Leave a Reply

